Matric past exam papers Matrics 2018!
What to read next? Great books for 6-12 year olds
Don't let them wait for the movie to come out, encourage them to open up a world of a pure imagination. Here are the most anticipated books for tweens in 2018.
(iStock)
Source

By now, you child has their own likes and preferences, this is no different when it comes to the books they gravitate towards. Here's a list to help them get through the holidays.

6-9 years old

Roald Dahl's James's Giant Bug Book – Roald Dahl

Discover the world of minibeasts that James encounters on his magical adventure away from Aunt Sponge and Spiker.

Darcy Dolphin and the Best Birthday Ever! – Sam Watkins

Darcy Dolphin is back! This time, Darcy joins the sea trouts to lend a helping fin, but things don't go according to the plan. Soon, there's chaos in the sea! Can Darcy sort everything out and throw Ozzie Octopus the best birthday ever?

Tweens

Wrinkle in Time – Madeleine L'Engle

Meg's father mysteriously disappears after experimenting with the fifth dimension of time travel. Meg and her friends will journey through space and time in an attempt to save her father from evil forces. 

A Series of Unfortunate Events – Lemony Snicket

Violet, Klaus and Sunny Baudelaire are left orphaned and will have to live with their relative Count Olaf, who tries to steal their inheritance. The children will come together to protect their estate and to uncover the secrets behind their parents' mysterious death.  

Twelve Nights – Andrew Zurcher 

 

Kay's father is working, as always. But it's Christmas Eve and her mother is fed up! She drives her and her sister, Eloise to Cambridge College where her father works, however, the staff have no recollection of anyone with his name ever working at the college...

Coming this April.

What were your favourite books when you were growing up and what lessons did you learn from reading? Email us at chatback@parent24.com and we may publish your comments.

Read more:

Sign up to our weekly newsletter to receive Parent24 stories directly to your inbox.

Read Parent24’s Comments Policy
NEXT ON PARENT24X
 
 
 
 
Directories

Everything from parties to pre-schools in your area.