PRINT IT: SA's 2020 school holiday calendar
You're already organising the next December break, aren't you! That's why we made this print-friendly school holiday calendar to help you plan.
Right click and download this printable school holiday calendar onto your phone or computer. (Parent24)
Source

It's never too early to plan your next break! 

Our printable school-holiday calendar have been so popular that we couldn't wait to share the 2020 dates with you.

We only have the proposed dates for the 2020 school terms as yet, but the moment we see there's a change, we'll update this calendar.

Remember, these are the term dates for state schools because private schools set their own term dates and differ widely. 

Simply click and save this school holiday calendar to your cellphone, or download and print out and have it handy when you plan your year ahead. Bear in mind that private schools have their own holiday calendars.

We've indicated all the school holidays in yellow, and public holidays in green.


School holidays 2019:

But first, if you don't have the 2019 school holiday calendar yet, click here.


SA school holidays 2020:

Click here to download the 2020 printable.

2020 South Africa school holiday calendar printable

Click here to download the printable.

(Original calendar image: iStock)

The 2020 school calendar:

Wednesday 1 January: New Year's Day

Monday 13 January: Teachers back at school

Wednesday 15 January: Schools open for Term 1

Friday 20 March: Schools close

Saturday 21 March: Human Right's Day

Human Rights Day falls on the Saturday after schools break for the autumn holiday. No workday’s leave here, unfortunately.

Tuesday 31 March: Schools open for Term 2

Friday 10 April to Monday 13 April: Easter weekend

The longest long weekend of 2020 is Good Friday to Family Day, 10 to 13 April 2020. And it’s followed by another 2 neat long weekends.

Monday 27 April and Friday 1 May: Freedom Day and Worker's Day

Between Freedom Day on Monday and Worker’s Day on Friday, we’ll have a beautifully short week flanked by two long weekends. Bear in mind before you take those 3 days off, they’re school days and you’d have to ask the principal’s permission before taking your kids out of school.

Friday 12 June: Schools close

Tuesday 16 June: Youth Day

Youth Day falls within the winter school holidays, which gives you a free day to spend with the kids without having to take leave.

Tuesday 7 July: Schools open for Term 3

Sunday 9 August: Women's Day; Monday 10 August is a public holiday

Friday 18 September: Schools close

Thursday 24 September: Heritage Day

Tuesday 29 September: Schools open for Term 4

Wednesday 2 December: School's out!

Friday 4 December: Teachers are released...

Wednesday 16 December: Day of Reconciliation

The schools close early in December in 2020, and the kids will be bored already by the 16th. If you’re not yet on leave, take the day to get them out of the house and enjoy South Africa’s fantastic weather.

Friday 25 December: Christmas Day

Saturday 26 December: Day of Goodwill

In 2020 Christmas falls on a Friday, but Day of Goodwill is on a Saturday, so no extra work days’ leave here, unless you’re a weekend worker.

The school holidays 2020 at a glance:

December holiday 2019/2020:

Good news! The long December holiday is back. Schools close on 4 December 2019 and only open again Wednesday 15 January 2020. Teachers start on Monday 13 January.

March 2020 holiday:

Schools close Friday 20 March and reopen Tuesday 31 March. 

June/July 2020 holiday:

Schools close Friday 12 June and reopen Tuesday 7 July.

September 2020 holiday:

Schools close Friday 18 September and reopen Tuesday 29 September.

December 2020/2021 holiday:

Schools on Wednesday 2 December; last day for teachers is Friday 4 December 2020.

Source: Department of Basic Education

Sign up for Parent24's newsletters.

Also read:

Chat back:

How far in advance do you plan your family holidays? When are you going away and whereto? Send your comments to chatback@parent24.com and we may publish them (anonymously).

Read Parent24’s Comments Policy
NEXT ON PARENT24X
 
 
 
 
Directories

Everything from parties to pre-schools in your area.