2018 SA school holiday calendar printable
Download, print, save or send this handy school holiday calendar so you can start planning your next family holiday!
(Parent24)
Source

We've had such an enthusiastic response to Parent24's 2017 holiday calendar, and few requests for next year's too, that we got to work. Ta da! We're happy to present the 2018 school holiday printable calendar!

Now you can download, save or whatsapp next year's school holiday calendar and start working out your family getaways for the year ahead.

We've indicated all the school holidays in yellow, and public holidays in green. 2018's public holidays don't fall as neatly as they do in 2017, but with a few additional leave days here and there you can maximise your days off. We've taken the liberty to make a few suggestions below!

To download the 2018 school holiday calendar, click here.

2018 SA school holidays

(Original calendar image: iStock)

To download the 2018 school calendar, click here.

SA long weekends 2018:

Our guide to the public holidays next year, indicating how many consecutive days you'll get off, and how you can maximise that with a few well-chosen leave days.

New Year's Day: 1 January

  • Monday 1 January is a public holiday. It falls within the December holiday.
    = no leave, 3 days off

Human Rights Day: 21 March

  • Wednesday 21 March is a public holiday.
  • Take leave Monday 19 and Tuesday 20 March, or Thursday 22 and Friday 23 March.
    = 2 days leave, 5 days off

Easter weekend: 30 March to 2 April

  • Friday 30 March is Good Friday, Monday 2 April is Family Day. It falls within the April school holidays.
    = no leave, 4 days off
  • Take leave during the school holiday week, Tuesday 3 to Friday 6 April.
    = 4 days leave, 10 days off

Freedom Day and Workers Day: 27 April & 1 May

  • Friday 27 April is Freedom Day, Monday 30 April is a school holiday (not public holiday), Tuesday 1 May is Workers' Day.
  • Take off on Monday 30 April.
    = 1 day leave, 5 days off

**If you don’t have kids at school:  

  • Take leave for a day or two before and/or after the long weekend. For instance, add Thursday 26 April and Wednesday 2 May to the 30th. 
    = 3 days leave, 7 days off

Youth Day: 16 June

Youth Day falls on a Saturday in 2018, so no additional public holiday, unfortunately! (It's only when a public holiday falls on a Sunday that the following Monday is granted as a public holiday.)

National Women's Day: 9 August

  • Thursday 9 August is a public holiday, and Friday 10 August is a school holiday (not public holiday).
  • Take off on 10 August.
    = 1 day leave, 4 days off

**If you don’t have kids at school:  

  • Also take leave from Monday 6 to Wednesday 8 August.
    = 4 days leave, 9 days off

Heritage Day: 24 September

  • Monday 24 September is a public holiday.
    = 0 leave days, 3 days off

Day of Reconciliation: 16 December

  • This day falls on a Sunday, so Monday 17 December is a public holiday. It falls in the school holidays.
    = 0 leave days, 3 days off

Christmas: 25 December

  • Christmas falls on a Tuesday this year, with Day of Goodwill on Wednesday 26 December. It falls in the school holidays.
  • Take leave on Monday 24 December.
    = 1 day leave, 5 days off
  • Bonanza 1: Also take Thursday 27, Friday 28 and Monday 31 off.
    = 4 days leave, 11 days off
  • Bonanza 2: Take leave from 18 to 31 December.
    = 8 days leave, 18 days off

SA school holidays 2018

December holiday:

Till Tuesday 16 January.*

April holiday:

Thursday 29 March to Tuesday 9 April  (11 working days, 17 total days).

July holiday:

Monday 25 June to Monday 16 July (15 working days, 23 total days).

October holiday:

Monday 1 October to Monday 8 October (5 working days, 9 total days).

December holiday:

Thursday 13 December to Tuesday 8 January (24 working days, 41 total days).*

*Remember, if you are a teacher, you'll be working for another 2 days at the end of the year, and start 2 days earlier in January.

Have you made your holiday plans for the year yet? When are you going away and whereto? Send your comments to chatback@parent24.com and we may publish them (anonymously).

Read Parent24’s Comments Policy
NEXT ON PARENT24X
 
 
 
 
Directories

Everything from parties to pre-schools in your area.